Thursday, September 25, 2008

Horsepower wars are over

Well I waited some time before my second post but only one day for my 3rd. We are at the end of the horsepower wars that we enjoyed over the last 10 years. But the economy and this bailout talk is putting 100K sports cars on the back shelf. I sold my Porsche GT3 for 115K and had I waited 3 -4 weeks I would have bitten the bullet for less than a 100k. Ferraris the last bastion of luxury cars that never sit on dealers lots are available on dealers lots! and close to MSRP!!!!2 year old Porsche Twin turbos are under a 100K and alot of the new cars are sitting and selling for invoice. The market is under 2 different pressures one is the lack of executive moneys for those guys to go buy their toys and green pressure trying to get cars to go green operate on electric and other renewable sources of power. These pressures are going to make horpower verbotten, so the
last of the cars we see now may be it for awhile. Lambos Porsches FCarsand other brands in the same price range are being forced to go down in motor size or just give up and produce no power at all.  This I beleive is all knee jerk reactions to this because its politically correcnt. Not the scientific solution but the warm and fuzzy solution that makes us feel good till we find out
about battery disposal and stuff like that we dont talk about right now.
So anyway go buy the biggest AMG mercedes you can with most horsepower you candfind and relax!!!! Good day and Good Night

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

sorry about the delay lots have happened

Well, Since my last blog I found out I am going to have o have back surgery. After 4 years of suffering I went to Kerlan Job and decided to have "flexible" Fusion on my L5/S1 disk. Its not the typical fusion where bone is grafted on bone but instead 2 rubber standoffs are inserted between the two vertebrae above and below the disk that is gone and is jacked up to relieve pressure off the disk that is spilling out into the nerve canal. I have never had a major surgery so this is scary stuff.
On the way back from the Doctor I had to let my wife drive becuase I could no longer drive my beloved Porsche. My whole treat for myself for becoming a successful engineer is now causing me pain. In fact when I got home, I decided to sell my dream car. I was going to buy a BMW M3 but I was not happy with the brakes. So with some help with some freinds I decided to buy a Mercedes AMG C63. Basically a little old ladies hot rod. Its a great car and I like all the goodies it has that true sports cars dont. Nav, nice stereos, blue tooth, etc. It has 460 hp and 440 pounds of torque.
I have been breaking it in because it needs 1000 miles of break in required. So until then you have to drive like little old lady from pasedena no less!
After 7 years in the Porsche community I have become irrelavant! I dont like that but my friends still let me hang around.  I can hardly wait till I cant take it to the track.
I have also been asked to be on  a American LeMans Racing team as an engineer. This would be fantastic but its a big risk and one I am willing to take More on that later.
Well we are into week 3 of the NFL. Dallas has emerged as the best team in the league. But even they have weaknesses that can be exploited. The Defense is stiff one week loose the next week. I think the plan for Dallas is to hold the ball for 40 minutes a game and limit the defense on the field 20 minutes per game. That seems to work, but Dallas is wll on its way to a record in penalties a game.
The New York Giants # 1 in one poll ( Foxsports.com) is playing well but not fantastic. I sense they are not used to being defending champions. They will lose befor Dallas will. The other teams tha suprise me is Indys collapse. Seattle is ready to push the panic button. Tennesse is undefeated despite the Vince Young Saga, but coach Fischer is doing a good job!!!
Buffalo is 3-0 bu we'll have a better idea over the next 2 weeks of how this will shake out.
Dallas looks like the Dallas of the early 90s speed everywhere with key players who can perform at each offensive position. 
The election is going on, and with the fiscal fiasco going on right now, I would not be happy with Obama and his cronies (many come from the Fannie may and Freddie mac) being incharge since non of them have a clue how to fix the system thats given him hundred of thousands of dollars. This next couple weeks will be interesting. McCain is calling time out to study the crisis while Obama hasnt a clue what to do.
Good luck and good night.
Lots more about cars and  football to come

Pablo